First ACP World Rapid Cup, Odessa, January 4th to 8th
/Images/Banners/wcuplogo01.jpg" align="left" alt="Logo"> Peter Leko became the winner of the First ACP World Rapid Cup took place in Odessa from January 4th to 8th 2007. The venue was the Hotel Londonskaya. The tournament organisers were the Bank Pivdennyi and the Association of Chess Professionals. The total prize fund is 136,000 US Dollars. 16 grandmasters participated in Knock-Out tournament. The time control for first 2 games was 20 minutes for the whole game with an increment of 5 seconds per move. For the next two games: 3 min. + 2 sec. and the last game is a sudden deth game.
The competition, organised by bank PIVDENNYJ, is a final stage of the most scale project of the Association since time of its formation in 2003 year - ACP-tour. The cup becomes an unique chess tournament of an elite level which structure is generated on the basis of precise sports selection. The right of participation in the World Cup have received 14 players who have shown the best results in 64 largest tournaments in seasons 2004/2005 and 2005/2006. Three grandmasters of the basic list in view of their refusal of participation were replaced by players who took the highest places in the candidate list.
Besides it, under the joint decision of Bank PIVDENNYJ and ACP, two invitations to tournament as Wild Card have received Ilya Smirin (Israel) and one of the strongest grandmasters of Ukraine, Vassily Ivanchuk.
So, the the participants were: Vassily Ivanchuk 2750 (Ukraine), Peter Leko 2749 (Hungary), Alexander Morozevich 2741 (Russia), Boris Gelfand 2733 (Israel), Teimour Radjabov 2729 (Azerbaijan), Alexei Shirov 2715 (Spain), Etien Bacrot 2705 (France), Sergey Rublevsky 2677 (Russia), Pentala Harikrishna 2673 (India), Arkadij Naiditsch 2663 (Germany), Evgeny Bareev 2643 (Russia), Viorel Bologan 2658 (Moldova), Ilya Smirin 2654, Ivan Sokolov 2652 (The Netherlands), (Israel), Hikaru Nakamura 2651 (USA), Farrukh Amonatov 2559 (Tadjikistan).
The /Archive/Shahcom/Shahcom.html"> Shahcom Company provided live coverage of games of the tournament utilizing /Store/Access/board.html"> electronic boards "Shahcom" . You are able to watch the games live on both: ACP site: .
The results:
Leko -Ivanchuk 1/2,1/2,1/2,1-0
Gelfand- Leko 1/2,1/2,0-1,1-0,0-1
Ivanchuk -Radjabov 1-0,1-0
Leko -Rublevsky 1-0,1-0
Shirov- Gelfand 0-1,1/2
Morozevich- Radjabov 0-1,1/2
Bacrot- Ivanchuk 1/2,0-1

Round1 Day 2
Harikrishna- Morozevich 0-1,1-0,0-1,1-0,0-1
Bareev- Radjabov 1/2,0-1
Bologan- Bacrot 0-1,1-0,0-1,1-0,0-1
Ivanchuk -Amonatov 1-0,1-0
Round1 Day 1
Sokolov- Leko 1/2,0-1
Rublevsky -Naidich 1/2,1-0
Smirin- Shirov 0-1,1/2
Gelfand -Nakamura 1-0,0-1
/Java/2007/Odessa/viewer.html"> View games
/Java/2007/Odessa/odessa.pgn"> Games in PGN
Official site: